» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

Find A Grave Reviews

Find A Grave image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 33 reviews)

Category: Genealogy Sites (AKA Family Tree Websites)
Website: http://www.findagrave.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(2.8 Stars) based on 33 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Search Effectiveness:
Ease of Navigation:
Features:
Technical Support:
Help Files / Documentation:
Ease of Joining / Registration:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
8 Reviews
4 Stars
5 Reviews
3 Stars
5 Reviews
2 Stars
2 Reviews
1 Star
13 Reviews

55% of Users Recommend it



8 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 1: Displaying Reviews 1 - 8 of 8
Highly recommend
02 December 2013
Reviewer: Linda from PA

136 of 290 people found this review helpful

Love the ease in posting memorials and in contacting other contributors through suggestion link. Easy to search by name or location or cemetery. Being able to link a memorial to parents and spouse is a great asset for researchers.

Transfer "guidelines" are a bit stringent that some contributors follow, but most of the active contributors are great about transfers. My only complaints would be about the contributors, not the working of the site. Those contributors who list memorials, then no longer respond and eventually become inactive forcing the findagrave staff to handle their memorials; or a few of the contributors who seem to be in it for the numbers then will not easily transfer. Or, unfortunately, those who list incorrect information and/or links. Again, not findagrave's issue, but a contributor issue.

My experience with staff has been great - a few times I've had to go back with a 2nd request for a correction, but not often.

Personally, these listings have been a great asset to my genealogy research. Seeing the photo of the gravestone to be able to confirm information is great! Being able to request... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would recommend Find A Grave to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


My favorite
23 March 2013
Reviewer: Willow from Indiana

123 of 278 people found this review helpful

I have always loved Findagrave. One of my main goals when researching friends and family is to know where one is buried. I found a lost Aunt this way because some kind soul on Findagrave, for free, had posted her memorial in a cemetery in Florida.

I can't afford Ancestry.com very often, which is sadly became quite a monopoly. Over and over again, any free sites I use to frequent are ate up by Ancestry.

In fact, I've noted all my work and photos that I have placed on my memorials on Free findagrave are being taken by Ancestry members and placed on their trees there.
What ever.

In summary, I would recommend Find A Grave to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Find a Grave
29 July 2012
Reviewer: Another genealogy nut from Charlotte, NC

163 of 325 people found this review helpful

I love contributing to Find A Grave. I have found that hanging out in cemeteries and taking pictures of graves is very peaceful and relaxing, and posting them for a relative out there somewhere who might stumble across it is very rewarding. I have gotten so many nice responses from people who have found their close relatives and more distant ancesters alike.

As for the help and informtion that I have gained as far as my own research...I have been equally satisfied. I have gotten some big, unexpected surprises and emails from distant relatives who have been able to share stories and even pictures.

There are alot of seemingly "control freaks" on findagraves, usually contributors who have been doing it for several years and have added thousands of memorials. Mostly it comes from their insistance that "duplicate memorials' be removed. I have seen alot of fights over this-a contributor already had a memorial with a photo posted, and a relative who refuses to take their newer memorial down. Well, READ THE RULES! Duplicate memorials can throw things off and cause alot of problems for others trying to research. Not to mention...against the rules.
This really is... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would recommend Find A Grave to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Find a Grave
25 June 2012
Reviewer: Happy Geni from Colorado Springs, CO, USA

161 of 319 people found this review helpful

I've done extensive genealogy research and like this very user friendly site a lot. After Family Tree/Ancestry this is the site I refer to next. I especially appreciate the family links and posted obituaries to find names of children and their spouses, I also appreciate all personal pictures. There are a few instances where I have found incorrect dates, but I just go with my own research. USGENWEB is one alternate site but is very user unfriendly in my opinion - every state designs its own search menu and requires more info that you may have to begin a search. Personally, I give kudos to the person who designed the site and even more to all the volunteers who put in their time and effort to record cemeteries. I've "done" one small cemetery and it was a chore! Thank you

In summary, I would recommend Find A Grave to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Find A Grave
03 January 2012
Reviewer: William A English from DHS, Califronia

156 of 323 people found this review helpful

For all of you who don't like Find A Grave - Just hop in your car and visit 25 states and search countless records in countless counties and spend countless dollars doing so. That is what I would have had to have done to find the information I have found at this site. Some geneanologist just don't like the WWW. They think you should have to drive those miles, send and pay for those records. I have found it a great resource and have found all the volunteers to be very helpful and respectful.

What I don't like about it is the management of Memorials. Though I have only had one problem with one person, it was and still is aggravating. But I always have the option of remaking that memorial to correct it.

In short - except for one person who has not responded - I think this that it is a great site. I am grateful to the volunteers there who take the time to do what they do.

In summary, I would recommend Find A Grave to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Find A Grave is a good value for the money.
23 September 2011
Reviewer: Eric from Virginia, USA

153 of 333 people found this review helpful

Can't argue with free. Don't give too much thought to my star ratings above since I haven't had any experience with hardly any of it except searches and I can't comment on the other negative reviews. Anyway, I have found a lot that I would not have found without this site. Searches are pretty much immediate(don't know how they do it so fast).You are limited only by the information which is has been submitted by other users. Sometimes I find nothing, and sometimes I hit the jackpot.

In summary, I would recommend Find A Grave to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


findagrave
03 June 2011
Reviewer: C & Y Haines from Granger, Indiana

185 of 325 people found this review helpful

I have been a member for a while. I have found a huge amount of information for my genealogy searches. I have also been able to add a lot so others can find their families.

In summary, I would recommend Find A Grave to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Findarave.com
04 April 2011
Reviewer: Juanita from Pennsylvania

154 of 305 people found this review helpful

I have been able to find a few living cousins as well as getting information on some family members cemetary locations. I think it is wonderful that many people that you don't know will come to your page and leave a memorial which can mean so much to those who are grieving for a family member or friend. Findagrave is GREAT!!

In summary, I would recommend Find A Grave to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit FindAGrave.com

or

« Back to the rest of our Genealogy Sites Reviews







Advertisements