» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

My Heritage Reviews

My Heritage image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 372 reviews)

Category: Genealogy Sites (AKA Family Tree Websites)
Website: http://www.myheritage.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features Videos User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(4.1 Stars) based on 372 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Search Effectiveness:
Ease of Navigation:
Features:
Technical Support:
Help Files / Documentation:
Ease of Joining / Registration:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
178 Reviews
4 Stars
134 Reviews
3 Stars
16 Reviews
2 Stars
12 Reviews
1 Star
32 Reviews

88% of Users Recommend it



32 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 2: Displaying Reviews 11 - 20 of 32
|
Just me
08 September 2015
Reviewer: Genealogy Guy from Toronto

100 of 203 people found this review helpful

I am just a little concerned - I NEVER signed up for Myheritage, yet they sent me an e-mail (to my personal account) saying that my account is up and running and my tree is available to add to it.

First of all - how did they get my personal e-mail address?????

Secondly - I have never uploaded any tree to the internet - I was with ancestry.com and just cancelled it. All my research was kept on my home computer. How could I possibly have a tree to "access" on myheritage when one was never uploaded anywhere??

Thirdly - even if I did have a tree uploaded - myheritage does not have my permission to use my tree nor any data I would have. Why would I give them all my data for free ?

And finally - why would have to pay in order to access my own tree????????

I wrote to myheritage 3 times with the above questions and they have never responded.

Is this an indication of their customer service policies??

Do you think I will join?????

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Basically a scam
24 March 2015
Reviewer: Tbelle from Canada

77 of 156 people found this review helpful

After joining and paying for a 2 year membership I discovered that unless I paid an additional $9.95 per month I could not see anything I had researched.Click on research and it tells you that it has a number of things, records etc but to access them you need to pay an additional $9.95 a month!All you get for the membership is the ability for " smart matches" which is nothing more than a match up of what other people have put on the site, with none of the accompanying records to prove their entries are backed up by solid evidence such as birth certificates or death certificates. The software is lame! Once you have checked out a smart match and verified it the smart match is still displayed by the name, thus you have no idea which ones you have checked out.It does not remove the research symbol when you have checked out that either. So unless you keep a hand written record of the smart matches you have already checked out you could be going back over the same people over and over again.

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Buyer Beware!!!
25 August 2014
Reviewer: Nottafan from USA

73 of 181 people found this review helpful

I submitted a support ticket to cancel my free trial as I couldn't figure out how to do it on their web site. No response and I was charged. I then created another support ticket. About a week later I got a call from an Account Manager in Israel. After 25 minute phone call of me continually asking for a refund and pleading my case, and him making offer after offer to keep me, I FINALLY got a full refund. Unreal and extremely frustrating. It was like calling Comcast. Very poor. STAY AWAY!!! There are other alternatives.

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


These people are thieves.
06 June 2014
Reviewer: Genie from Miami, Florida

66 of 142 people found this review helpful

I entered quite a bit of family tree data into geni.com, and I really was enjoying that site. Then it suddenly became my heritage, the prices went WAY up, and as I didn't want to pay them, I no longer have access to my own info.

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


No recourse when the previous family researcher dies!
02 June 2014
Reviewer: Dave from New Jersey

66 of 151 people found this review helpful

5 times now I have written this company, and have gotten no response on this. I guess I will start doing public reviews like this one until someone actually responds! ....

Customers should realize this danger before you upload. There is a possibility that erroneous trees populate and may even dominate the "Smart-Matching" system and there is no way to fix the erroneous data! Plus if you die, those who come after you will spend years trying to access your data. Here is the warning and the background:

Our family research association started in 1923. Over the years, many family researchers have headed up the effort. The previous family researcher died suddenly of a heart attack in 2001 and I took over the 40,000 name database in 2003. MyHeritage bought the company that used to host our on-line family tree. Repeated attempts to contact the company and ask that they take down the tree so that we could replace it, or transfer his database management, have fallen on deaf ears. Nothing but the automatic "we have gotten your request" has ever come back. Not even any questions. Our previous historian's obituary is even on our association's web site and we sent... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Avoid MyHeritage like the plague
05 June 2013
Reviewer: Whack from UK

144 of 260 people found this review helpful

This company charged my credit card for an annual subscription but I never received access to anything other than their basic level site and NO data subscriptions whatsoever. No response from support other than offering to sell me another annual subscription (4 days after they took my money the first time). I'm really sorry I ever arrived at their homepage. Cave Emptor!
Conclusion: this is a SCAM site.

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Renewal with My Heritage.com
19 April 2013
Reviewer: Midlands from Birmingham

139 of 250 people found this review helpful

This website is designed to milk as much of your hard earned cash as possible from the additional add on charges and auto renewals that everyone has complained about in previous reviews. For safety reasons login to your account and disable the auto renewal which they fix as standard so they can raid your bank account a year after you have forgotten about it.

If for any bizarre reason you wish to renew with my heritage.com then be aware that if you do not look like you are going to renew they will offer you 20% by email to entice you to re join for another year. If you still do not renew they will track your visits to the website and literally as you are on the site they will ring you to offer you a 50% special renewal rate. Warning though - it is done through a promotional code and unless you follow the instructions fully they will scam you for the full amount no matter what they have offered.

I complained about there tactics directly to my heritage.com and got an email response asking me to clarify things more clearly even though I had done. I sent another... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


DANGER auto renewal without permission.
08 March 2013
Reviewer: PJ from Tucson,AZ USA

147 of 297 people found this review helpful

I joined My Heritage to allow my family tree to be accessible to researchers without having to join something. My tree is large so I was/AM a premium member. "My Heritage" auto renewed my account WITHOUT my permission. There is absolutely no phone number to contact them to dispute the charge of $119. They offer email contact however no one responses to emails.

I cannot dispute the charge until it moves from pending to posted. And I seriously doubt it can be disputed then because the phone number on file with the pending order is a shopper support line phone number. Even the shopper support billing service does not have a phone number for My Heritage.

PLEASE BE SMART AND AVOID JOINING "My Heritage". Go to Ancestry

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Stay far away from MyHeritage.com
04 March 2013
Reviewer: Stuntkites from USA

133 of 286 people found this review helpful

I signed up for a 7 day free trial for MyHeritage.com. My husband happened to be looking at our credit card statement at the time and saw that 3 pending charges appeared for "PLI*MyHeritage". The "PLI" stands for PLIMUS, a third party vendor located in ISRAEL. I went to MyHeritage.com and posted a dispute requesting an immediate cancellation and received a Do-Not-Reply email that said they would contact us. NO CONTACT from ISRAEL. I then called MyHeritage.com and requested an immediate cancellation. I was told that they would have to refer me to their DISPUTE DEPARTMENT located in ISRAEL and that they did not have a telephone number. I then called my credit card company and created a dispute and they have blocked the SCAM website from billing us again. STAY FAR AWAY FROM "MYHERITAGE.COM"!!!!!!!!!! I repeat----STAY FAR AWAY FROM "MYHERITAGE.COM"!!!!!!!!!! It is my firm opinion that they are a SCAM website!!!!

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


The worst web site ever!
13 February 2013
Reviewer: StuWho from Coventry

153 of 295 people found this review helpful

I joined just a week ago having first experimented with Family Tree Builder. In a fit of enthusiasm I spent £125 for Premium Plus Membership.

None of my invited co-Site Managers has been able to input a thing. I have up-loaded a GEDCOM file, but that has made no difference. The information actually shown on their web site Family Tree is sparse to say the least, nothing like as comprehensive as on Family Tree Builder. Every one of their advertised Reference Services I have tried to go to wants more money off me; none seem to be actually included in the Membership Fee.

I had absolutely no response from their Technical Support people having spent considerable time trying to find out how to contact them. I conservatively estimate that, in the week since I paid for MyAncestry I have wasted at least 8 hours getting nowhere with them or their web site.

In sheer frustration I e-mailed their Customer Services to cancel my Membership and asked for a refund. Six hours later they still haven't contacted me. This must be the worst on-line business with which I have ever had dealings! Can't even find out where their business is based!

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


1 2 3 4
Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit MyHeritage.com

or

« Back to the rest of our Genealogy Sites Reviews







Advertisements