» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

My Heritage Reviews

My Heritage image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 372 reviews)

Category: Genealogy Sites (AKA Family Tree Websites)
Website: http://www.myheritage.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features Videos User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(4.1 Stars) based on 372 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Search Effectiveness:
Ease of Navigation:
Features:
Technical Support:
Help Files / Documentation:
Ease of Joining / Registration:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
178 Reviews
4 Stars
134 Reviews
3 Stars
16 Reviews
2 Stars
12 Reviews
1 Star
32 Reviews

88% of Users Recommend it



16 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 1: Displaying Reviews 1 - 10 of 16
Mixed bag
25 November 2018
Reviewer: Lora from Oakland CA

23 of 47 people found this review helpful

Basic info provided, with premium plus, is good but, no way to check multiple matches to confirm them. (I’m some cases had to go through 50-72 individual matches to clear them).
Too many pop up ads asking for upgrade and selling DNA test, which I already had done.
Unable to access documentation without additional upgrades.
I cancelled before my trial period was up.

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Customer Support
09 November 2018
Reviewer: Lori from USA

23 of 49 people found this review helpful

Had a problem generating a family tree for printing. Called customer service and Olivia (from Ireland) couldn't have been more helpful. With in a short time she showed me several features I wasn't aware of and had my problem solved. Thank You Olivia

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Human Factor
24 October 2018
Reviewer: Cynthia Fisher from Independence, Missouri, USA

25 of 49 people found this review helpful

I’m a chubby old white haired Grandma in the Midwest USA so there isn’t a lot of “easy” things to do on the internet but I did catch on to Ancestry a lot easier than MyHeritage. I find MyHeritage difficult to navigate. I was going to stop my subscription today until I spoke with CSR Stephen O’Dwyer. A most courteous, helpful and professional young man who did provide me with helpful hints and information. I’ll stay at it for a few more days but I am losing hope I will find anything further regarding my husband’s grandmother Ella Heffernan. Thank you.

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


I had problems after updating my tree
22 October 2018
Reviewer: Ewa-marie Olsson from Sweden

29 of 55 people found this review helpful

After me updating the tree all my confirmed matches disappeared as did the Smart matches. I had also updated 3 other people´s DNA, they also disappeared. Under handle my DNA I found 5 batches of which 2 seemed to belong to me, the others had batch Nos. but no names to go with the batches. I was asked to look into FTDNA for these batch Nos. but couldn't find them there and when looking into these batches contents, they all seemed to be my own! Ilona was very pleasant to talk to and also explained that the disappeared Smart and Confirmed batches would probably return after a while as it usually took some time for the system to handle all the matches. When updating my new tree I also deleted my old trees, which may have been a mistake, I don't know.

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Heritage and my experience
12 October 2018
Reviewer: Dee Guinn from Marble Falls, TX USA

26 of 51 people found this review helpful

I waited for a long time to get my DNA report. The first hurtle was that my computer could not track the report. Next I seemed to have a hard time getting to the proper place to follow up. Then I could not remember my password to obtain the report. (I cannot remember even signing up. Guess I just thought you ordered a DNA kit, did the swab bit, and then sent it back and received a letter from Heritage). Nothing could have been further from the truth. Reports are not mailed - only viewed thru the computer which is so subject to glitches!!

Well, to make this shorter, I finally called Sean. He was patient and courteous. Guided me thru a plan and password to get me to my DNA report. I know now that I, like others, am a mixture of many races.

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Unhappy with Auto renew
21 September 2017
Reviewer: A Subscriber from NC

39 of 70 people found this review helpful

Used and enjoyed Ancestry.com for several months but that was enough. Called to unsubscribe but told I'd already paid for a year's subscription so don't cancel yet. Very surprised to find recent unannounced Visa charge for $159 for another years renewal! Will say the technician who answered this call did not hesitate to reverse the charge and cancel my subscription but glad I had carefully reviews my Visa bill. Think Ancestry.com/MyHeritage should offer manual renewals by default.

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Tech Help
21 May 2017
Reviewer: Vet from Ontario Canada

35 of 64 people found this review helpful

The tech I talked to was very helpful to a point in trying to resolve my issues with the My Heritage Tree Builder and promised to get back to me with some helpful ways to get this done. After up dating to the latest version of My Tree Builder the programme still does not work properly. This issue I originally thought was due to my computer but have now figured out it is with My Heritage software programme. This issue developed when I renewed my subscription this past January 2017 and has gotten worse as time has gone by. I am patiently waiting for the My Heritage techs to help resolve this issue.

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Great Features, Better than Others, (but Sync & Deletions !)
09 May 2017
Reviewer: Sandra from UK

28 of 60 people found this review helpful

I've recently moved all my records from another site.

Let me start by saying I love a lot of MyHeritage's Features.

Tree Checker is Great - it helps you to remove a LOT of dead data from your tree (especially following move from another site using GEDCOM, like I did).

I also split my trees on this other site, and I can only see now, (after running relationships report) that the other site did not properly remove the obsolete family from each tree after this split.

I love the Relationships Report from MyHeritage for isolating those persons who are duplicated and require removing from each tree
BUT what WOULD be helpful, would be for MyHeritage to offer a BULK removal service for those persons identified by this report as "not related to to the home person.
Instead I lodged a call, waited a couple of days, called back MyHeritage - only to be told that I would have to delete each of those persons one by one!!
(If anyone knows how to delete in bulk it would save me hours & hours before I can actually start to use MyHeritage)

Plus - I dont think I've quite got to grips with this sync-ing - I started... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Tecnical Support
27 April 2017
Reviewer: Mike O'b from Phoenix, AZ USA

35 of 70 people found this review helpful

Called to find the place for source citations. I've belonged for 2-3 years and never found the place to give a source. Support lead me to it easily and the lady was very nice to talk to and explained thoroughly.
That said, the source place is really hidden and not easy to find. Without Tech support, I don't think I would ever have found it. Plus it doesn't automatically tie a source to an event.

My overall would be a 3.5 stars.

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Home is where your Ansestor hung his hat
21 March 2017
Reviewer: Bucky from U.S.A.

28 of 55 people found this review helpful

When I received my results I noticed some real weird locations even though they were tiny %. 93% was the English Isles, but they did not indicate if it was Scotland, Britain, or Ireland. I called for assistance, and had to wait an hour and ten minutes to talk to someone. While waiting the music was blaring and distorted. Annoying to say the least. When I did get to speak to a rep. she said they would be sending more additional info along in a week or two. Hope they can refine their search a bit more. I myself knew from checking the origin of my name that it came from the Isles. I was hoping they could determine what part.

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


1 2
Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit MyHeritage.com

or

« Back to the rest of our Genealogy Sites Reviews







Advertisements