» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

My Heritage Reviews

My Heritage image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 372 reviews)

Category: Genealogy Sites (AKA Family Tree Websites)
Website: http://www.myheritage.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features Videos User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(4.1 Stars) based on 372 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Search Effectiveness:
Ease of Navigation:
Features:
Technical Support:
Help Files / Documentation:
Ease of Joining / Registration:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
178 Reviews
4 Stars
134 Reviews
3 Stars
16 Reviews
2 Stars
12 Reviews
1 Star
32 Reviews

88% of Users Recommend it



134 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 1: Displaying Reviews 1 - 10 of 134
Dna
11 December 2018
Reviewer: Trevor Good from New Zealand

22 of 44 people found this review helpful

My problem started when I tried to add an additional person's DNA kit to my DNA kit which seemed effortless to complete, when I arrived at a "continue", my photo albums opened and I could find no way to enter the second person's activity code, there was however a free phone call number, which I duly dialled and after pushing what seemed like an endless number of number prompts, I was asked for my Account ID Number, I did not have this handy, so opened My Heritage, retrieved my ID and proceeded on with the phone call. A voice responded after a reasonably short length of time, this person on the end of the line was so pleasant and helpful and even giggled along with me at some of my failings. All in all, a very pleasant, and helpful result enabling the completion of my details and that of my other person.

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Wide database, good support, improvement in details needed
06 December 2018
Reviewer: Florian from Leipzig, Germany

22 of 52 people found this review helpful

On deciding whether to use premium plus I was not sure if it was worth the money. As of today I'd say expensive but worth it. I was surprised by the amount of matches that turned up pretty soon, and was able to expand my family tree by desktop work way faster than I expected.

Support was fast and friendly, even though during standard business hours it wasn't available in German.

I disagree with another user who thinks there is too much manual input needed for the matches: Often the quality of the information matched with is 'from - to'. Therefore yes, if you need to go through more than 200 matches person by person it is much work, but then again it is up the the user to do it quickly or with devotion to detail. I prefer the later.

However there are some things that would be great if being improved:

1. Please scale down the ads for the DNA kit.

2. With smart matches it would be great that if while matching I could edit all personal information on my side for every relative, e. g. remove double pictures etc.

3. With record matches I would prefer to have the final say... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Thank You
04 December 2018
Reviewer: Patricia from Mackay, QLD, Australia

26 of 50 people found this review helpful

I am not very computer literate & so make mistakes, sometimes many of them. I couldn't follow the computer prompts to mend my mess so phoned late Sunday night & found someone to speak to. Zvonimir was very helpful & extremely patient with helping me to learn how to undo my mistakes. I think I deafened him a little when I got excited to learn how I can sort it out myself now. I am the only family member interested in our family tree & find My Heritage very valuable in finding information, as there are no longer any older members of my family alive or with their memories intact. Thank you very much. I would also like to apologize to those people I confirmed matches with but have since found I am mistaken.

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


I had a DNA test done for my daughter
02 December 2018
Reviewer: Boltus from Norway

18 of 38 people found this review helpful

My Heritage user image
I had a DNA test done for my daughter. Her mother is a filippina and I am a half-half sami/norwegian.

Turns out they can not pinpoint sami background! They say my daughter is half filippina and almost 1/4 scandinavian and almost 1/4 FINISH and some central asian! (Some central asian makes sence, since the sami people is belived to origin from there thousands of years ago.)

Very disapointingly quality of the DNA test.

Lyder

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


I'm my own father-in-law!!
28 November 2018
Reviewer: Janice Of Ojai from Ojai, Ca, USA

19 of 40 people found this review helpful

I uploaded my Father-in-law's DNA to My Heritage around 2 years ago, at the request of one of his cousins in FInland. With MyHeritage's free upload offer, I decided to put mine on MyHeritage as well. Immediately after uploading, I saw that my maternial 1st cousin was there. So I thought things were fine. The next match I saw was a very young lady in England, who was sharing 274 cM with me. Damn that's close. My grandmother was born in England, but she and her siblings had immigrated to Canada in 1912. 274 cM is mostly likely the grandchild of a 1st cousin of mine!! But then I checked the matches "shared with me", and noticed a lot of them have family connections to Fife, Scotland, where my father-in-law's father was from. And the next match in "my" list was definitely one of his cousins in Finland. Our DNA kits had been blended together!
I called up this morning, all freaked out, and a very nice assistant (who spoke excellent ENglish) answered. I explained what I was done and what I now... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Account question response
16 November 2018
Reviewer: Clicker2850 from Sudbury, ON, Canada

23 of 44 people found this review helpful

When I submitted a query about my account payments, I had an initial reply seeking clarification about my question within a day or so. After providing the requested clarification, I got a satisfactory reply within 24 hours. I had checked the FAQ and other online help but was unable to find the specific information I sought.

Since I've had no comparable experience with any of My Heritage's competitors, I cannot compare my experience with My Heritage with other firms.

In general, I've been very satisfied with the service I've received from My Heritage in the months I've been a member.

In the recent weekend's free access to military records, I was unable to find any information about several relatives whose names I entered, even though I know they did serve in the Canadian military during WW2. In fairness, I had similar lack of results on several other sites offering free access to military records that weekend.

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


General use
16 November 2018
Reviewer: Norm Sutherland from Canada

21 of 39 people found this review helpful

Sometimes email ingredients does not get you anywhere as replies are rare. However,when you do get someone to speak to they have been very helpful and prompt in handling of the particular issue.
DNA results came out nearly as well as expected,while they were a few surprises,but was unable to get answers on those surprises as to their origins whether maternal or paternal.
Building family tree is easy and links have been very helpful in discovering history

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


MyHeritage is my favorite genealogy site/software
15 November 2018
Reviewer: Noa Cohen-orlov from Israel

24 of 47 people found this review helpful

MyHeritage is my favorite genealogy site/software. I built my family tree there and found important information using its algorythm.

There are two things it lacks, for my use:
1. Hebrew dates with reminders for birthdays etc.
2. A way to change appearance of complicated families (with more than one spouse and children from more than one mother/father.

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Could become 5/5 (given more experience on my side)
07 November 2018
Reviewer: Ran from Denmark

24 of 49 people found this review helpful

Based on the first week's use of the paid online site and Family Tree Builder desktop software, I have to say that I am impressed by the high programming standards! Everything seems to work and functions are well integrated across platforms and menus.

Most of the functionality is quite intuitive and the help desk is very capable, if assistance is required.

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Probably best genelogy software online
28 October 2018
Reviewer: Eclectic from Russia

21 of 45 people found this review helpful

I know there's number of genealogy software with much wider functionality but unfortunately they all were written with old technologies and cannot be really used online alike to social network. MyHeritage has limited genealogy functionality (in comparison with old-school professional systems) but up-to-date interface and great tools for discovering documented information makes it all.
Frankly speaking support might have been working quicker for the paid account. I believe in 2018 professional service desk built by ITIL guidelines is a must for worldwide business.
Anyway I wish them success so that stability will never be a subject, functionality grows to address all types of genealogy problems and support works smoothly. Good luck!

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


1 2 3 4 514
Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit MyHeritage.com

or

« Back to the rest of our Genealogy Sites Reviews







Advertisements