» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

Geni Reviews

Geni image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 27 reviews)

Category: Genealogy Sites (AKA Family Tree Websites)
Website: http://www.geni.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features Videos User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(1.7 Stars) based on 27 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Search Effectiveness:
Ease of Navigation:
Features:
Technical Support:
Help Files / Documentation:
Ease of Joining / Registration:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
3 Reviews
4 Stars
0 Reviews
3 Stars
1 Review
2 Stars
4 Reviews
1 Star
19 Reviews

Only 11% of Users Recommend it



27 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 2: Displaying Reviews 11 - 20 of 27
|
The Bernie Madoff of Genealogical Research Companies
09 May 2014
Reviewer: D.a. Normann from Seattle, Washington

131 of 260 people found this review helpful

I joined GENi a year ago at the behest of a distant cousin in Europe. Sadly, like the proverbial lamb to the slaughter, I blindly submitted my payment before discovering that that would be the last shared exchange I would ever have with them. On more than 10 different occasions I attempted to log in the purported account I was charged for...and after countless hours of failing, with absolutely no venue for recourse, I realized (as apparently many others have discovered) that I had just thrown away a hundred-plus dollars. It's quite a neat little SCAM they seem are running, and I will now take every opportunity to shout it from the rooftops. Obviously, some people are using the service successfully, but since I have NEVER been able to get ANY RESPONSE back from the black hole that calls its self GENi, I have no idea how many winners compare those of us who are the "very sore" losers. My only advice is to stay as far away from whoever these people are, or at the least, see if your membership can be claimed as a tax deduction. Very angry and very disgruntled, D.A. Normann - Seattle, WA

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Co-Plaintiffs Sought Against Geni
25 April 2013
Reviewer: AtomicDaisy from Pennsylvania

139 of 234 people found this review helpful

When I joined Geni.com five years ago it was a platform for storing family data, finding relatives, and sharing information. The company was bought by My Heritage in November of 2012 and since that time they have assigned "curators" to merge family trees -- in violation of their policies -- with much of this information becoming public. Despite my request of one of the "curators" not to alter my tree, he continued to do so. I proceeded to delete almost the entirety of my data, much of which he restored less than a week later. Following my deletions I received notification from two other "curators" that they were "following" me. I now maintain my account (which carries a monthly fee) to monitor activities with respect to my information, however, Geni has blocked my access to information relevant to my extended family. I intend to pursue a legal action against Geni. Should you care to join me as a co-plaintiff, please contact me.

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Do not even think about joining
08 April 2013
Reviewer: Bud from USA

168 of 318 people found this review helpful

I could find out more information by googling than on Geni. I cancelled my subscription and they charged me $89. Scam is right. I am trying to fight it through my cc company as there is no phone number to call and my emails have gone unanswered.

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Not free as advertised...
14 February 2013
Reviewer: Unhappy from New Zealand

177 of 333 people found this review helpful

Only free for very basic data entry, as far as I can see. To do any research and link to others costs money. Fair enough if that's what was advertised.

At one point I found some unknown person had some correct but very incomplete information about my grandparents, which I could access if I paid up. A few minutes later, doing a search under the names of those same grandparents it said there were no matches. Needless to say, they're not getting my money.

Not easy to delete your information if you don't want to continue, either, so, given the privacy warnings in other reviews - if you don't want information out there, be warned that entering it may place it at risk, even if you try to remove it.

On the other hand, it was easy to change the birth order of siblings, unlike some sites.

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Geni.com
18 June 2012
Reviewer: Ken from Georgia

191 of 367 people found this review helpful

If you're into genealogy and if you're thinking about putting your tree on Geni.com---don't. I speak from experience as a long-time FORMER participant. Bad mergers with other managers can cause you to lose control of your tree, making it open to theft. Also, privacy issues. If you want to use Geni, most of the privacy issues can be addressed, but I wouldn't rely on any of it for accuracy. I found that my oldest known ancestor, whose parents are not known, had suddenly acquired an entire ancestral tree of his own, added by another manager. Total fantasy, of course, with no sources, but I was unable to change it. After my tree was taken over, I was blocked from changing it, and at that point unable even to contact management, much less get help from them. Avoid it!

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


SCAM!!
02 June 2012
Reviewer: Very angry from Lilongwe, Malawi

206 of 388 people found this review helpful

I clicked the "try Pro for free" and since they require inserting credit card number (though without security code), they succeeded to charge 190$ (year membership) from my bank account! This site should be closed down!!

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Privacy/Transfer of Information from GENI to Ancestry
09 February 2012
Reviewer: D.W. from Los Angeles

196 of 382 people found this review helpful

Against my wishes, a GENI Pro member has put my personal information and that of my daughters on his website (including full birthdates.) I have discovered that people are downloading huge numbers of names from GENI and transferring them to Ancestry and other websites. From this one webpage alone on GENI four people have downloaded around 100,000 names. 12 other people have transferred smaller amounts from the same webpage. (A real boon for Ancestry and the other websites!!) I know this because all the trees contain the same 'marker' name and so were easy to trace. The person has refused my request to remove my personal family information and GENI allows transfer of information so it is appearing on other websites. I am very conscious of identity theft because of a bad experience. Fortunately Ancestry and Friends Reunited have ethical standards regarding information about living people and removed my information at my request but I now have to be vigilant.

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


bad bad bad
23 January 2012
Reviewer: LOSTINSPAZ from AL, USAS

186 of 369 people found this review helpful

i gleefully joined Geni thinking i could input, research, get assistance from a great support staff. What the fire was i thinking.. i joined as a PRO. (still confused about that) every question i asked staff support was meet with " what platform are you working on ( Geni, of course), well, give us a step by step description, ( well i did) Then i find i am talking with a "CURATOR" that is someone who has used GENI for a long time ( long enough to learn system) SUPPORT just flew out the window. you can only input a certain number, then Geni shows only the basic part of your tree. When i asked about seeing my entire tree, i was told to "go to a list, ???" now i am confused, lists dont relate to a TREE.

dont use GENI- no research sites, you can only research within GENI.. hahahaahahaa, dont make me laugh.. i have over 3000 distant relatives, 4/5/6 generations,, i want to leave Geni, just trying to find a good research, input, support site.. hints anyone!/>?

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Scam--Avoid!
18 January 2012
Reviewer: Andy Curtis from Chicago, IL

213 of 394 people found this review helpful

I signed up for a $9.95 monthly subscription and then Geni.com charged for a whole year. You can't call customer service and they don't respond to e-mails. Avoid!

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


It was a good site, now its just terrible.
06 January 2012
Reviewer: Dissapointed from USA

196 of 381 people found this review helpful

As a basic user, there was a time you could see other trees and check to see if you were related. Now they just want your money before you can see anything, public or not. I will be pulling any information off (if possible). At this rate they will be down in less than a year.

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


1 2 3
Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit Geni.com

or

« Back to the rest of our Genealogy Sites Reviews







Advertisements