» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

Geni Reviews

Geni image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 27 reviews)

Category: Genealogy Sites (AKA Family Tree Websites)
Website: http://www.geni.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features Videos User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(1.7 Stars) based on 27 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Search Effectiveness:
Ease of Navigation:
Features:
Technical Support:
Help Files / Documentation:
Ease of Joining / Registration:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
3 Reviews
4 Stars
0 Reviews
3 Stars
1 Review
2 Stars
4 Reviews
1 Star
19 Reviews

Only 11% of Users Recommend it



27 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 1: Displaying Reviews 1 - 10 of 27
Don't Waste your Resources
07 September 2019
Reviewer: Lynne from Arizona

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is not only a waste of money, but a complete waste of time. Worst site ever! Hard to navigate, and it pretty much just sends you to other sites.

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Curators are not genealogists
08 August 2019
Reviewer: California Dreamer from San Francisco, CA, USA

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Don't waste your time or your money on Geni.com!

* CURATORS ARE NOT GENEALOGISTS. The Geni curators also are not historians. They look at this as "volunteer work" and put this hobby on their resume ~ too stupid to realize they "working" for free. The curators I researched are unemployed people who live in their parents garage or have a sugar mama or daddy to support them. Look them up on Linkedin then block them! Seriously, I researched the curators who are like soup Nazis to control how your family appears online and these people have no jobs or businesses. They're lonely people who can't get along in society, so they integrate on this forum to feel some superiority or power over you. They're nobody special, but Geni.com makes them feel they are.

* POOR RATINGS: Check out their online reputation and you'll see hundreds of complaints for this tiny company from Burbank California. Geni.com steals the Better Business Bureau rating from their sister company MyHeritage, but when you write MyHeritage (owned from Israel) they won't respond to your questions at the BBB from either account. They are evasive and sneaky. Geni.com is owned by Myheritage.com. Don't buy either! If you buy... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Curator altered my tree- beware of ID theft
30 May 2019
Reviewer: Fed Up from San Francisco, CA

5 of 9 people found this review helpful

I’ve spent hours uploading my family tree when a curator altered and blocked me from key members of my own family. They even took over my grandparents and parents names. Their DOB, full names etc are exposed.

This is a prime target for id theft. I contacted Geni, who said to contact them directly even though they blocked me. Geni doesn’t want to get involved in these issues for whatever reason.

What started out as a good idea quickly devolved into a privacy nightmare as soon as the curators got involved.

Stay away from this site if you value your privacy and control over your own data.

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


No Control. Bad Deal.
21 March 2019
Reviewer: Nothingworksright from Oregon

8 of 14 people found this review helpful

A long time friend has a cute saying, "It sounds good if you say it fast". That is Geni. You cannot delete your account! My children are posted and I have almost no control over photos or facts. Since Geni teamed with Myheritage.com the site is a nightmare. People you do not know can post relatives and take control. If you invite others to join your tree, you cannot control what they do, such as entering Mickey Mouse as a relative. Stay away.

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Geni.com a rip-off
03 October 2016
Reviewer: Joyce from Western Maryland

57 of 111 people found this review helpful

Geni appeared to have some good features but I did not take time to take advantage due to my initial impressions. When doing a simple family member search on the one day I was a free trial member, Geni could only refer me to 2 other genealogical sites that I'd already researched satisfactorily. (And both of those require credit info to have a 14 day free trial.) I was also turned off by the fact that I was charged $2 on-the-lowdown for starting a Geni 14 day free trial. I got out, a bad experience for me.

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Geni is the best place for building your family tree
07 January 2016
Reviewer: Randy Schoenberg from Los Angeles, CA

78 of 154 people found this review helpful

I am not an employee of Geni, but I really love the program and think it is by far the best tool we have for genealogy. It really pains me to see people who obviously don't know much about Geni, or genealogy, write such negative reviews. If you want to see why Geni is in fact the best program for genealogy, read my blog posts at http://schoenblog.com/?p=712 and http://schoenblog.com/?p=471

In summary, I would recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Geneaology as Rugby Scrum
28 December 2015
Reviewer: Ejgrammer from North Shore, MA, USA

80 of 147 people found this review helpful

The good: the site is free (unless you count a price paid in privacy losses) and works pretty well in terms of not crashing or having similar technical issues. It also would work if you prize social media experiences, or if you want to see if you might be able to find some connection to a celebrity.

The bad: Geni.com offers NO reliable privacy, and changes to purported policies occur frequently. Entries for long ago ancestors or for living relations deemed to be celebrities will be seized upon by volunteer "curators," who have absolutely no qualms about rewriting your family tree to suit themselves. One demanded to take over my family tree, and at another point I found such a person "following" my mother--who, though meritorious in countless ways, could never be deemed a celebrity or otherwise a person of legitimate interest to "curators." You can't undo the damage and you can't delete data except on an entry-by-entry basis.

If you want a free for all with ersatz cousins, this is the site for you.

If you want a reliable place to record genealogical research

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


The World Tree idea is a complete farce
18 December 2015
Reviewer: Alan from Perth, Western Australia, Australia

70 of 124 people found this review helpful

You put your family's details onto this site and the next thing you are getting bombarded with Merge Requests from Geni's "Curators" They know nothing of genealogy and have poor research skills but if you do merge your family's details with one of theirs on the off chance there is indeed a link you'll lose control of your own relatives data and there won't be a thing you can do about it

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Legal thievery
11 June 2015
Reviewer: Bob S from San Diego, CA USA

102 of 183 people found this review helpful

Beware of this business. It is very hard to cancel an account in a manner that saves your annual fee. Geni sends an email in the middle of the night that your credit card will be charged early in the morning. Very bad outfit.

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Genii Blew It with the "Curators"
09 May 2015
Reviewer: Mjpickens from Silver Spring, MD USA

100 of 192 people found this review helpful

I have had Geni for years and not able to take the time to update and work with it. We just discovered that someone in Hungry - not related at all to the family - now is the "owner" of several immediate family member profiles. Sorry Geni but giving people around the world the ability to become owners of my family records doesn't sit with me. I am deleting all records I can - don't know since the "curator" has taken over them if we will be able to get all of them deleted but I will be trying.

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


1 2 3
Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit Geni.com

or

« Back to the rest of our Genealogy Sites Reviews







Advertisements