» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

Geni Reviews

Geni image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 27 reviews)

Category: Genealogy Sites (AKA Family Tree Websites)
Website: http://www.geni.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features Videos User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(1.7 Stars) based on 27 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Search Effectiveness:
Ease of Navigation:
Features:
Technical Support:
Help Files / Documentation:
Ease of Joining / Registration:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
3 Reviews
4 Stars
0 Reviews
3 Stars
1 Review
2 Stars
4 Reviews
1 Star
19 Reviews

Only 11% of Users Recommend it



27 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 3: Displaying Reviews 21 - 27 of 27
Be warned!
04 January 2012
Reviewer: Deedub from Australia

166 of 341 people found this review helpful

If you cancel your tree after experimenting (as I did), your data then is NOT deleted - but is up for grabs by anyone opportunistic enough to claim "management" of it.

As a result, I have relatives complaining to me about misinformation published and in the search engines, that I cannot amend or delete, as although I "created" the data, I no longer "manage" it. Current "managers" state they cannot delete it either.

When I wrote to Geni to remove all my data, I was told that they would only assist paid-up members.

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Geni changes the rules without notification
18 December 2011
Reviewer: Dirkvl from Belgium

182 of 364 people found this review helpful

In my opinion, there are only two things a company can do bad:
1. destroy customer data
2. chage policies without notification
And Geni has just done nr 2.
I was very happy at geni.com, but am now forced to look for another haven for my data, which has grown quite large. Also, I will have to re-invite all the participants :(
Very bad move from Geni.
But I can't say anything wrong about the interface. It WAS very pleasant to work with.

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Geni.com has changed
11 December 2011
Reviewer: Matthew from Australia

181 of 351 people found this review helpful

If your concept of a family tree is simply boxes showing birth and death dates, then this is the site for you.

Entering any information beyond this is not recommended. Geni has changed to a Wiki concept so that anyone in the world can change the information you entered, but unlike a Wiki there are no moderators and the source of the new information is not normally provided. Similarly, except for the basic information, the author of the changes is not known.

In a Wiki, such as Wikipedia, a moderator would normally highlight or remove such information to prevent the site becoming a data dump.

With no research material available on the site, the subscription is simply paying for web hosting. This is definitely not value for money.

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Geni rule changes
25 September 2011
Reviewer: Biil G from mn

166 of 331 people found this review helpful

They yanked simple birthday/event gifts (happy face, Birthday cake) from the free basic, and removed Gedcom export also. Looking around now - I was very satisfied until now.

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Geni changes the rules!!!
15 August 2011
Reviewer: Disillusioned basic user from Europe

160 of 300 people found this review helpful

http://www.geni.com/blog/geni-pro-just-got-a-whole-lot-better-369661.html

As a basic user you are no longer able to enter data beyond your 4th cousins and closer, as well as third great grandparents and closer.

In summary, I would not recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Geni is a great concept
30 July 2011
Reviewer: Doug from New York

159 of 272 people found this review helpful

My cousin introduced me to Geni.com last December. I have found Geni.com to be a great way to build the family tree. It's especially rewarding when we've been able to link up the trees of second, third and fourth cousins and spouses.

In summary, I would recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Geni: A Terrific Tool for Genealogy
23 September 2010
Reviewer: James gross from voorhees,nj

178 of 351 people found this review helpful

Geni user image
I have been on geni since dec 2009. Since then I have been fortunate to locate a number of relatives, including those whom are related by blood and by marriage. I have also located a number of inlaws.

Be aware that the person in charge of the family tree may not be your relative. They could be a distant inlaw. I have found researcher attitudes to be varied. Some are actually indifferent, some want to just copy all of my names, and a few are actually interested in engaging in a discussion on research.

Researchers can accept new researchers as friends, family group, or collaborators. Friends can see your tree but cannot amend it. Collaborators can amend your tree.

One has the option of allowing complete access, limited access, or no access to unverified geni researchers.

Cost - the basic tree is free. Pro version allows for gedcom and amending information. There is a monthly charge.

Pros - a webpage that will accept a gedcom file and create an instant tree.

Cons - the inability to update gedcom files. the ability of collaborators (whom you have accepted) to amend your tree.

Privacy - one can set the levels of access. It is a... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would recommend Geni to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


1 2 3
Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit Geni.com

or

« Back to the rest of our Genealogy Sites Reviews







Advertisements