» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

Pro Genealogists Reviews

Pro Genealogists image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 15 reviews)

Category: Genealogy Sites (AKA Family Tree Websites)
Website: http://www.progenealogists.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features Videos User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(1.1 Stars) based on 15 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Search Effectiveness:
Ease of Navigation:
Features:
Technical Support:
Help Files / Documentation:
Ease of Joining / Registration:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
0 Reviews
4 Stars
0 Reviews
3 Stars
0 Reviews
2 Stars
1 Review
1 Star
14 Reviews

Only 0% of Users Recommend it



15 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 1: Displaying Reviews 1 - 10 of 15
You Pay, You do the Work
23 May 2017
Reviewer: Sad Buyer from Utah

16 of 30 people found this review helpful

I am not new to Genealogy and took my information into ProGenealogists. They asked for $$$ and I gave it to them with names, locations, and dates to start from. $2500 later, they handed me a shiney folder and a cd summarizing the names, locations, and dates I had given them and said my research was correct. Seriously? I asked for a refund, they sent me $140 and said it took them time to verify my work. Really? Stay far away from this group unless you have absolutely no idea about anything. That way, you will be blissfully happy when they verify who your mom and dad are and charge you for it.

In summary, I would not recommend Pro Genealogists to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Waste of Money
02 May 2017
Reviewer: Jenny Minder from Fargo,ND

17 of 30 people found this review helpful

It has been eight months since I started this program. They were very efficient getting me set up and then it all went to hell in a hand basket. I waited five months before contacting them because I heard nothing and then it turned out they had not even begun. I had one request. I wanted to find something out about my mother's heritage because she was adopted and we knew nothing. My father was and is alive so they had us both take DNA and said that would make things easier in finding my mother's family. Long story short. They have my money and I have nothing not even communication. Really disappointed. Thought I was going to find out something about my mom's background. They did not say it was impossible or that they could not do it. They just did nothing! Run as fast as you can away from this "service".

In summary, I would not recommend Pro Genealogists to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


A Horrible Experience
25 August 2016
Reviewer: Sawyer from Chicago, IL USA

52 of 104 people found this review helpful

My experience was very similar to other reviews. I paid $2,500 and waited for months for the research to begin. I only wanted confirmation on a 4th great grandfather and his father. I have done extensive research on my own. The only additional information from what I had found on my own were some land records. After paying the money and waiting for months, I found these reviews. (sadly!). But it did cause me to stay on them and when they started looking at other people in my tree, I called them on it. They did stop and refund me $1,000. I do have a professional opinion in writing. I will find out if it's enough to be approved at DAR for membership under my 5th great grandfather. My report has a name that is not in my tree. I have called them 3 times asking about it, I think it's probably a typo. No response whatsoever. A very negative experience. Keep your money.

In summary, I would not recommend Pro Genealogists to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Let the buyer Beware!
20 April 2016
Reviewer: Grace from Utah, USA

61 of 117 people found this review helpful

My understanding was that I would be kept apprised of research being done. The ProGen17 tree would be available for me to see as progress was made. No, that doesn't happen, or didn't in my case. The ProGen website says that the ProGen Tree and the ProGen email is the vehicle for staying in touch with the researcher and finding out what research is being done. Never was anything posted on the tree (the Pro Gen tree that is made visible to the buyer) nor did the researcher ever respond to the two emails I sent to him. (I don't believe anyone ever even read my two emails to ProGen 17--certainly there was never a response--but the website says this is the means by which information is coordinated between the ProGen researcher and the consumer.)

The buyer is kept completely out of the loop. Once a month a phone meeting is set up with the coordinator (a person who has no direct personal involvement in the research nor knowledge of it). This individual could not answer any question about what is happening in the research. Her lack of knowledge is perhaps understandable, as... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would not recommend Pro Genealogists to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Waste of money
21 March 2016
Reviewer: Stillooking For Ancestors from Memphis, TN

78 of 140 people found this review helpful

They didn't do what I requested. I asked them to find out where my German ancestors came from but that's not what I got. They gave me names and documents I already had and stopped short of crossing the Atlantic.

In summary, I would not recommend Pro Genealogists to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Wasted Money $2500.00
31 May 2015
Reviewer: Robbie from Texas

59 of 105 people found this review helpful

I did not realize it would be 3-6 months before anyone even looked at my research. Had I known this I would have researched private genealogists in my area. I was also told I would receive updates monthly, I was never contacted. I've learned nothing, was totally ignored after my money was paid.
I would never recommend this non-service to anyone. I feel totally misled by these people.

In summary, I would not recommend Pro Genealogists to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Don't waste your money
09 December 2013
Reviewer: Shafted from Georgia, USA

143 of 258 people found this review helpful

When I hired pro genealogist, the man on the phone said I must have good credit because my charge of $3000 went through fast - I should have run then. I had completed 95% of my tree. I needed additional proof of one connection of father and son. Within a few days of talking with the researcher, I received an e mail saying they had started a family tree for me. All that was listed and all that is still listed was the father, my ancestor, and 4 half siblings (no places of birth or death just names). I received a call from the researcher ironically when I needed the completed work, she said she needed more money. Fortunately, I realized before the call that she was not able to do my research. You can find the information yourself. Contact historical societies, libraries, and probate courts. "Strangers" on genealogy sites are distant relatives who will help you or at least point you in the right direction.

In summary, I would not recommend Pro Genealogists to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Horrible experience and a waste of money
17 June 2013
Reviewer: Evsciguy from Richmond, VA

163 of 313 people found this review helpful

I hired Progenealogists to help me with a brick wall with one of my 3rd great grandfather born in 1815. I spent over $2,000 on research that I had already made conclusions about. They were of no value. Not to mention the genealogists was getting names confused in her "formal report". I had to retype the thing just to make the corrections. They are an absolute racket!

In summary, I would not recommend Pro Genealogists to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Another dissatified Customer
17 September 2012
Reviewer: RABBIT from MINNESOTA

186 of 324 people found this review helpful

Ya, it was $3,000 for me also and after 6 months the only thing they could tell me was what I told them to start with and that research I had already done. I am very disappointed, dissatified and recommend you to NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY with them Ancestry.com needs to find someone else to help with research for their customers. I asked them to check on family more recent (around the 1900) AND THEY FORGOT so that cost me another $300.00. Leave this company alone. I will never trust another.

In summary, I would not recommend Pro Genealogists to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Don't waste your money...
03 September 2012
Reviewer: Frustrated from florida

188 of 328 people found this review helpful

I asked for help with a brick wall I have with my 4th Great Grandfather. I asked them to call me and I would work with them giving additional information to help with the search. When complete I ended up with a report of everything I already had researched myself. They do not want to ask or be bothered with your input, just what you give them upfront and they send you a package months later. They are not true professionals, just package themselves as such. I would highly recommend using someone who would spend some time during the research especially if the customer has researched this brick-wall for years!

In summary, I would not recommend Pro Genealogists to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


1 2
Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit ProGenealogists.com

or

« Back to the rest of our Genealogy Sites Reviews







Advertisements