» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

Tribal Pages Reviews

Tribal Pages image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 15 reviews)

Category: Genealogy Sites (AKA Family Tree Websites)
Website: http://www.tribalpages.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features Videos User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(3.5 Stars) based on 15 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Search Effectiveness:
Ease of Navigation:
Features:
Technical Support:
Help Files / Documentation:
Ease of Joining / Registration:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
5 Reviews
4 Stars
1 Review
3 Stars
6 Reviews
2 Stars
2 Reviews
1 Star
1 Review

67% of Users Recommend it



15 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 1: Displaying Reviews 1 - 10 of 15
Automatic PayPal charge.
18 June 2020
Reviewer: Schemed from Appelton, WI

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I would like to know how I can discontinue tribal pages. They charge me every year through paypal. No response when I "contact them. Please someone help me with this!

In summary, I would recommend Tribal Pages to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Easy to use - no support
22 February 2018
Reviewer: Martin from UK

108 of 127 people found this review helpful

Tribal Pages is an easy to use site although now they have to watch out as there are a number of good competitors.

When I first started using them back in 2002 they were one of the best now sadly, they are lacking I expect from lack of funding for development.

Support in a service orientated world is terrible if you can get any at all - no numbers to call and no response to emails and web complaints even AFTER they took my money!

On that basis, sadly,I recommend you look elsewhere to record your precious family history.

In summary, I would not recommend Tribal Pages to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Absolutely No Support
22 January 2017
Reviewer: Cheryl from Australia

32 of 65 people found this review helpful

I don't know why they call themselves Tribalpages Support because you just can't get them to respond. I've been trying for a week to get them to unlock my photos but they just won't respond. No one from Tribalpages responds to emails or posts in their technical support forum. It's just hopeless. If they cared about their customers a little it could be a great site. Go elsewhere. Must be something better out there.

Cheryl

In summary, I would not recommend Tribal Pages to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Tribalpages big faults
27 August 2014
Reviewer: Not Junk Mail from New Zealand

121 of 197 people found this review helpful

Tribalpages.com has one major fault. Virtually no customer support. If you join the site don't depend on Tribalpages support to help solve problems or provide advice.. You will be lucky to receive a reply. However there are some members who may offer some suggestions via the site Forum. Name search facilities are also poor in Tribalpages as is "my connections" which is the worst thought out section of the Tribalpages software.

On a positive note the tree is very easy to navigate around and it is easy to add names and edit. No problems in that respect. The main feature of Tribalpages is that you can design your own homepage.

Overall worth joining as cost ranges from a free site to a paid subscription site with added features. Suggestion - start off with a free site and then decide if you want to upgrade.

In summary, I would recommend Tribal Pages to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Easy to use site
16 April 2014
Reviewer: Yorkie from UK

136 of 607 people found this review helpful

I discovered Tribal Pages about 10 years ago as a novice researcher who is not very technically minded, tried the free site and was impressed straight away with the ease of adding information and photos to my family tree. The layout is easy to view and compact unlike other website trees I've visited. Since then my tree has grown considerably and I've upgraded to the Deluxe version which has more capacity but to my mind is still reasonably priced. There are several useful features available. e.g. ability to customise your site, printable charts, and the privacy features in particular are excellent, giving you full control and enabling you to allow people to view either as guests or contributors. My only slight niggle is that technical support could be better and they are sometimes slow to respond, but there are helpful members on the forum who can often sort things out anyway. I would recommend this site to anyone wanting an easy, affordable way of putting their family tree online.

In summary, I would recommend Tribal Pages to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Upgrade to Delux
11 March 2014
Reviewer: Anna from Ohio

140 of 274 people found this review helpful

March 11, 2014

I found Tribal pages and began using it, finding it to be a wonderful page. So I decided to upgrade to the Deluxe version. Well they got my money but have not upgraded my page from free to the Deluxe package.

I am very disapointed in them for this. Shame on You Tribal Pages. I have called tech support several times and have left messages to them through there contact us link as well and today March 11, 2014 still no answer.

In summary, I would not recommend Tribal Pages to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


What's not to like ?
26 February 2014
Reviewer: Scotjimland from UK

90 of 215 people found this review helpful

Tribal Pages user image
Have been a Tribalpages user for almost six years. I started with a free site, which is a great idea as you can decide if it's for you or not.. I liked it so much I soon upgraded to the deluxe site.

I particularly like being able to save and download the Gedom file, which means I've always got an up to date copy which can also be used on other web sites or software. It's a great way of backing up, albeit without images ..
Long term you can never trust a web site for your work.. IMO it must be backed up in as many ways you can think of, other sites, DVD, computer software, etc.. and of course, for future generations with a hard copy..

I like being able to customise the front/home page.. it's as easy or complex as you want to make it.

It's very user friendly and intuitive..

What's not to like ?

The Cost of the DVD of your site from TribalPages.. I think it is way too expensive.. I would love to be able to download and burn my own.. but that's not technically possible, nor is TP likely... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would recommend Tribal Pages to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Poor tech service, overall easy to use
11 November 2013
Reviewer: Dina from Honolulu, HI

160 of 261 people found this review helpful

I've been using Tribal Pages since 2006 with a database of over 800 names going back to 1800s. I'm at the point of finding a better software as their technical support is poor, and I'm finding other programs with more in depth research options. Tribal Pages is a great starter website and priced right, but I have yet to attempt to move the database to another provider ... we will see.

In summary, I would not recommend Tribal Pages to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Difficult to downgrade the site.
31 March 2013
Reviewer: H from US

127 of 253 people found this review helpful

I've had my site on Tribalpages for years. If you subscribe, then you can upload pictures, stories, and research your family using the related name lists the company sends you. It's been a handy way to allow my entire family to add to our family tree. I particularly like that our family members that marry into the family can add their histories as well.

However, If you share your site with a range of family members like I do, you'll need to warn them to take care of how they add and delete information. It's really easy to add information to the wrong person & overwrite entries as well.

Also, once I stopped paying for the site, a lapsed subscription message pops up any time I try to do something to the site. It's a giant pain to use the site now.

In summary, I would recommend Tribal Pages to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Simple but effective
04 January 2012
Reviewer: Deedub from Australia

207 of 411 people found this review helpful

This is a simple site to get up and running, particularly if you upload your own .ged file created by another program. Warning : uploading a new .ged file overwrites the data - no merge facility. The layout and navigation is intuitive and a pleasure to use compared to other similar products. Privacy measures (e.g. of live people) are good. The reporting and search functions are limited, and new features are often experimental and slow to appear. The developers seem to be immune to the barrage of suggestions to improve the product.

It has emerged as a popular free site with many entrenched supporters who brook no criticism - "go to another product if you don't like it". This might be OK for those who do not pay a fee, but as soon as a developer charges for a product, it's standards should be much more professional - particularly in technical support and server response. Too often there are server problems, and these are brushed off as "glitches". As I am writing this, I cannot access my (paid for) site.

The "forum" design is laughingly antiquated, and there is no help desk ticketing system, and there are many complaints about no telephone... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would recommend Tribal Pages to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


1 2
Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit TribalPages.com

or

« Back to the rest of our Genealogy Sites Reviews







Advertisements