» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

One Great Family Reviews

One Great Family image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 12 reviews)

Category: Genealogy Sites (AKA Family Tree Websites)
Website: http://www.onegreatfamily.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features Videos User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(1.5 Stars) based on 12 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Search Effectiveness:
Ease of Navigation:
Features:
Technical Support:
Help Files / Documentation:
Ease of Joining / Registration:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
0 Reviews
4 Stars
2 Reviews
3 Stars
0 Reviews
2 Stars
0 Reviews
1 Star
10 Reviews

Only 17% of Users Recommend it



12 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 1: Displaying Reviews 1 - 10 of 12
Amateurist and hard to use.
30 November 2014
Reviewer: Mh from USA

100 of 167 people found this review helpful

The concept of using the software to research for you is interesting but I can get that with Ancestry. I was attracted by the low price. Get what you pay for.

In summary, I would not recommend One Great Family to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


OGF does Great in Scientific Comparison to Ancestry.com!
10 June 2014
Reviewer: James Hannum from London, England

122 of 231 people found this review helpful

One Great Family says they have over 190 million unique entries in their database, and that they have removed duplicates and combined overlapping trees. I chose 10 names at random b. 1870 to 1970 from One Great Family. These were random, not in my family or any one state. I chose only names that showed parents. Then I searched for that person with one of those parents on Ancestry, setting the search for exact + phonetic matches.

Result: One Great Family did excellently! Ancestry found only 1 out of the 10 person + parent duos, Maude PLACKARD and her Mother Mary SNIDER:

Jon PLISOWSKI M= Marilyn COLLEY
Maude PLACKARD M= Mary Catherine SNIDER
Doris WEAGLE M= Evelyn Pearl FRAUSEL
Carol WERHAN M= Beulah Christine LUNDBY
Alice NOOYEN M= Angeline BORCHER
Tianna UMANN F= Phillip GLASSMAN /UMANN
Vito DiFABBI M= Antionette SPINO
Mary DiALBA M= Ann Delila WOOD
Leo KAARFAST M= Mathilde
Meyer KARPO F= KARPOWITZ

In summary, I would recommend One Great Family to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Not useful
11 December 2013
Reviewer: Monte from Northern Minnesota

136 of 271 people found this review helpful

I tried this site yesterday and uploaded a gedcom file with over 2,000 names. It did not offer a single match, clue or hint for further research. The desktop application is a mess, icons unlabeled, help files that do not explain what the icons are. The desktop app looks like something from programs written 20 years ago. Not ready for the big leagues.

I did not have any trouble canceling my subscription, but I will wait to see if there are future credit card charges.

In summary, I would not recommend One Great Family to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


This is a scam!!!!!!
29 July 2013
Reviewer: Cecilia Scott from San Jacinto, Ca 92583 USA

157 of 312 people found this review helpful

This company is nothing but a scam, if you cancel before your free trial, you are still billed for a whole year, and trying to talk to customer services is a joke!!!! This web site is nothing but a scam!!!!!

In summary, I would not recommend One Great Family to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Couldn't even find myself
06 June 2013
Reviewer: Whisperingsage from Northern California

148 of 255 people found this review helpful

I have used at least 10 genealogy sites that were supposed to be so great and it is pretty bad when I can't find myself on them. That's a quick and easy test. Thankfully, they didn't require a credit card number first, so they have THAT going for them.

In summary, I would not recommend One Great Family to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Do not spend your money - inferior product and support
05 January 2013
Reviewer: Greg Flanagan from Charleston SC

171 of 321 people found this review helpful

This website does not function correctly. The support is non existent. I uploaded over 585 people in my GEDCOM file. The site is asking me to input my parents and 15 other relatives. Hell they already have 585 of them .

I emailed to cancel. No such luck. DO NOT put your credit card in the form. They trap the number and have an automatic renewal. I have not been able to delete my original card.

BEWARE BEWARE BEWARE.

BTW- There are no good points.

In summary, I would not recommend One Great Family to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Very poor product - extremely difficult to cancel
27 January 2012
Reviewer: Consumate Genealogist from Salt Lake City, Utah

172 of 313 people found this review helpful

First, the interface is terrible. I am also an Ancestry.com subscriber. Ancestry has done it right. By comparison, Onegreatfamily is dreadful.

Next, if you haven't read this in a review by now, be aware that Onegreatfamily loves to take your credit card number, but makes it extremely difficult to cancel...always the mark of a bad company. If they trusted their own product, they would at least have a reasonable policy for cancellations.

Stay away.

In summary, I would not recommend One Great Family to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


This is a scam
12 December 2011
Reviewer: Mad hatter from USA

201 of 360 people found this review helpful

I signed up for the 7 day preview and cancelled that night. The cancellation procedure was very concealed and tricky, but I figured it out. Even after my first request for cancellation I had to go to one more site, and I did. Still they charged my CC. When I called to cancel "Brad" was combative, basically called me a liar and was extremely rude. I asked to speak to a supervisor, and he sent me to a voice mail that was probably his buddy's. DO NOT GET SUCKED IN BY THIS COMPANY.

In summary, I would not recommend One Great Family to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


One Great Family
11 September 2011
Reviewer: Seshen from UK

195 of 373 people found this review helpful

This site should be called One Great Robbery. I received an email over a year agao asking me to try it free. To do so you had to enter card details so I used a prepaid card I have for holiday abroad money as it was empty at the time. I then decided it was not much good so declined the offer to sign up. Then over a year later I topped up the card and you guessed it they stole $79 out of my holiday cash. I have e-mailed them and got this back:-

You were billed $79.95 because when you signed up on our system you selected a Yearly subscription.

We do not offer invoice billing, and our customer service representatives are not paid on a commission. They have no financial incentive to lie or cheat you into a subscription. The simplest explanation of what happened here is that you misunderstood what you signed up for.

Based on the tone of your message, it seems likely that you will continue to consider us to be thieves and liars. As surprising as it might seem to you, we do take offense at that. However, we do sleep... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would not recommend One Great Family to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


one great family
08 May 2011
Reviewer: Sandy from San Diego

222 of 410 people found this review helpful

This is the biggest scam ever. I accidently found this site, but it is very poor to do any research. The data base is extremely limited. I think they are trying to get members to increase their data base, but do not offer anything in return. DO NOT GET CAUGHT UP IN THIS SCAM!

In summary, I would not recommend One Great Family to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


1 2
Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit OneGreatFamily.com

or

« Back to the rest of our Genealogy Sites Reviews







Advertisements