» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

My Heritage Reviews

My Heritage image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 372 reviews)

Category: Genealogy Sites (AKA Family Tree Websites)
Website: http://www.myheritage.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features Videos User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(4.1 Stars) based on 372 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Search Effectiveness:
Ease of Navigation:
Features:
Technical Support:
Help Files / Documentation:
Ease of Joining / Registration:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
178 Reviews
4 Stars
134 Reviews
3 Stars
16 Reviews
2 Stars
12 Reviews
1 Star
32 Reviews

88% of Users Recommend it



32 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 3: Displaying Reviews 21 - 30 of 32
|
If it sounds to good to be true, it is to good to be true
30 December 2012
Reviewer: OCD genealogist from Ponca City, OK

147 of 265 people found this review helpful

If you like putting out good money to subscribe to what sounds good but isn't, this is the product for you. You will find you have to put out more good money in order that all its its features will work, If you like this sort of a product, then this is the product for you.

Perhaps you will find this product useful. I find it disorganized, a bewildering tour through old, user contributed information that is, at best, only somewhat reliable. There are no primary record dtabases as the advertising indicated.

If you are thinking of subscribing to it, don't. I wish I had put my money to more effective use.

I would not recommend it, beginner or advanced.

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Company does not honor it's promises!
30 November 2012
Reviewer: Wolfkatgen from Colorado, USA

139 of 265 people found this review helpful

On the negative side...I contacted the company over a year ago to cancel my account when I realized that it had automatically renewed. They would NOT refund my subscription fee because it was over 30 days since the account renewed. I wasn't happy but requested the representative to notate on my account that it was NEVER to renew again! The rep promised me that the account was set to close after that year and would NOT renew again!

However, I happened to go on to my account today only to discover that, not only had the account renewed (23 Oct 2012) BUT, it had renewed this time for THREE years!!!! I am furious!!! And, there is no place on the site where I can cancel my credit card so they cannot use it again!

I have only been on the site FIVE times (today being #5), according to their own website count. And, I wouldn't have gone on today accept for a fluck...glad I did! I want nothing to do with them!

On the positive side...it is EXTREMELY easy to sign UP for an account...just forget about trying to get rid of it.

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Your side had me as being dead.
13 October 2012
Reviewer: MVD from Athens, TN

119 of 260 people found this review helpful

You have evidently changed the way to edit porfiles on family trees.
You show me as having died 6/1/2001. I am very mcuh alive. My
mother died on that day.

Also, I just found out that my great-grandmother's first name was not
Mary, but Margaret. I can't get in to change these things.

I would be happy to hear from you.

Thank you very much for your help.

I would not recommend at this time.

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Do not download My Heritage
07 August 2012
Reviewer: Angry User from USA

162 of 320 people found this review helpful

Do not download My Heritage program. It will take over your computer. They are collecting data from your searches. No matter how you try to uninstall this program it keeps coming back. My heritage is not free and it comes with a virus, that tracks it's users.

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Impossible to unsubscribe
06 May 2012
Reviewer: Ben from Australia

146 of 306 people found this review helpful

I tried this site for the "free" 14 day trial. The site bills your credit card for $1 initially and then they refuse to cancel your membership if you are unhappy with the site. I have been billed for $76 and have had to cancel my credit card as they are still not cancelling my membership even though I have contacted them numerous times. Dont give these people your details they are not to be trusted. If you have registered with them cancel your credit card before it is too late.

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


MY Heritage
05 April 2012
Reviewer: Papilio from CA, USA

147 of 312 people found this review helpful

This site is the biggest headache I have ever come across ! Once you use it they NEVER leave you alone. I click on another personnel website of mine & they keep popping up instead !! NEVER use this, they are snoops & leaches, I am having a hard time getting them off my computer !
Do NOT go here !!!!!

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Really Intrusive!
07 December 2011
Reviewer: Joe from Seattle, WA, USA

150 of 287 people found this review helpful

We have used the free version of this program for a year; sometimes it has been nice to use and useful, but not user friendly; lots of odd navigation problems. It is recently becoming more and more intrusive with update checker that I can't turn off and Google toolbars that I didn't ask for. Starts to look like spyware!

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Terrible
22 August 2011
Reviewer: Charlie from Denver, Co

175 of 343 people found this review helpful

I signed up for this hoping to do some research. I have not been able to complete a single search without being directed to another site that requires payment. My Heritage provides no phone number to talk with anyone. Save your money.

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


My Heritage, My headache!
03 March 2011
Reviewer: Aron from North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany

191 of 341 people found this review helpful

Dear all - stay away from this website!!!!!!

I have horrible experiences with the customer services! After closing my account the company does not want to remove my name from the public myheritage directory.

One year ago I tried myheritage out but I found out it is not for me. I closed my account and like the website says I expected all information to be removed. Nonetheless, the company kept my family name and location (available on google, bing etc)

At first they told me that the family names data base is also based on a lot of phone-book records and open sources. Lie! Lie! Lie! my name is exotic and I was not listed anywhere with my full name and country! so, I asked them to provide me with their source, but of course they could not.

Then, after finally agreeing with me Noam, the customer service agent, told me that their developers removed my name from the last name directory. This was false, only the location was removed!

After checking with them they told me that the link would remain there for technical reasons??? what a bull! after some emails going back and forth he told me that CEO told him that they... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Frustrating
13 July 2010
Reviewer: Christina from texas

210 of 403 people found this review helpful

This website is terrible. You simply can't do anything without downloading or installing all of their programs on your computer. They use ActiveXcontrols on their programs which can do many harmful things to your computer if meant that way. I refuse to download a million programs just to do the simplest things they offer.

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


1 2 3 4
Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit MyHeritage.com

or

« Back to the rest of our Genealogy Sites Reviews







Advertisements