» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

My Heritage Reviews

My Heritage image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 372 reviews)

Category: Genealogy Sites (AKA Family Tree Websites)
Website: http://www.myheritage.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features Videos User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(4.1 Stars) based on 372 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Search Effectiveness:
Ease of Navigation:
Features:
Technical Support:
Help Files / Documentation:
Ease of Joining / Registration:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
178 Reviews
4 Stars
134 Reviews
3 Stars
16 Reviews
2 Stars
12 Reviews
1 Star
32 Reviews

88% of Users Recommend it



372 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 1: Displaying Reviews 1 - 10 of 372
Questionable DNA results -- Bogus "Instant Discoveries"
30 December 2019
Reviewer: Willie from USA

14 of 29 people found this review helpful

The DNA results are anomalous and questionable, but their “Instant Discoveries” are beyond bogus. First, the DNA results: Compared to the other tests that I’ve taken, the MyHeritage results were quite different. They are NOT at all in alignment with the other companies, NOT vaguely in alignment with my own genealogy (going back over 20 generations, in some instances), and NOT in alignment with the potential relatives that they’re identifying for me. Now, I realize that DNA is random and wouldn’t necessarily correspond to a genealogy. However, if they tell you that you have a high percentage of DNA originating from a particular place (in my case, Iberia), then there should be some evidence either in the genealogical record or in their DNA relationship match-ups — or in other companies’ DNA tests. There simply isn’t. Conversely, if other companies show a particular origin (ethnic composition) and if my genealogy confirms that ethnic origin, then I would expect to see some evidence of that same ethnic origin in MyHeritage — just as I see elsewhere. But I do not. Knowing the vagaries of DNA testing and the algorithms of origin assignment, I can guess that there might be some scientific explanation... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Technical Support
11 December 2018
Reviewer: Spencer from Israel

28 of 53 people found this review helpful

I have been using My Heritage for some years.
I have discovered family members whom I never knew existed!
I am much more in touch with my family and am able to send birthday and anniversary greetings well in time.
The technical support is very helpful and effective, I had a long session yesterday evening updating the version I was using and the representative Maya was so helpful and patient in helping me through the process.
I think it would advisable to have more telephone lines to help contact the help desk, I have had some difficulty with this issue.
Secondly, I would recommend changing the verification process for entering the help desk. If I can't go online for example, then I am not able to supply information from online pages such as my account number. You could use many other means of entry.
It is so important to me to build a family tree as time goes on and generations come and go and the stories of my ancestors will be available for the future.
Thank you for the wonderful experience of discovering my family,

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Dna
11 December 2018
Reviewer: Trevor Good from New Zealand

24 of 46 people found this review helpful

My problem started when I tried to add an additional person's DNA kit to my DNA kit which seemed effortless to complete, when I arrived at a "continue", my photo albums opened and I could find no way to enter the second person's activity code, there was however a free phone call number, which I duly dialled and after pushing what seemed like an endless number of number prompts, I was asked for my Account ID Number, I did not have this handy, so opened My Heritage, retrieved my ID and proceeded on with the phone call. A voice responded after a reasonably short length of time, this person on the end of the line was so pleasant and helpful and even giggled along with me at some of my failings. All in all, a very pleasant, and helpful result enabling the completion of my details and that of my other person.

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Just Don't
10 December 2018
Reviewer: Vee from Omaha, NE

26 of 54 people found this review helpful

Customer service is a waste of time. They only have yearly subscriptions, which doesn't work when on a fixed income. Ancestry is by FAR the better site. I would not recommend Heritage to anyone.

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


No starter
09 December 2018
Reviewer: Catarina from Sweden

25 of 48 people found this review helpful

I tried to enter my actication code online. Response: This code does not exist. After trying verious venues to find out what went wrong I found out that I was booked as born in 2004, although I was born in 1942. Teleåhone contact with My Heitage. The lady on the phone fixed the problem and
I thought that I now finally would be able to enter my activation code successfully. No - the answer is still that it does not exist.

My concern is that I cannot go any further - please solve this for me.

Good points- the reception by the American support system. Bad point - I still have the same problem.

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Wide database, good support, improvement in details needed
06 December 2018
Reviewer: Florian from Leipzig, Germany

24 of 55 people found this review helpful

On deciding whether to use premium plus I was not sure if it was worth the money. As of today I'd say expensive but worth it. I was surprised by the amount of matches that turned up pretty soon, and was able to expand my family tree by desktop work way faster than I expected.

Support was fast and friendly, even though during standard business hours it wasn't available in German.

I disagree with another user who thinks there is too much manual input needed for the matches: Often the quality of the information matched with is 'from - to'. Therefore yes, if you need to go through more than 200 matches person by person it is much work, but then again it is up the the user to do it quickly or with devotion to detail. I prefer the later.

However there are some things that would be great if being improved:

1. Please scale down the ads for the DNA kit.

2. With smart matches it would be great that if while matching I could edit all personal information on my side for every relative, e. g. remove double pictures etc.

3. With record matches I would prefer to have the final say... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Phone Tech Support
05 December 2018
Reviewer: Terry Fiske from Corona Ca

26 of 53 people found this review helpful

I called Tech Support and I spoke with a wonderful lady name Katarina. Her accent was heavy but the customer support she delivered was out standing. She even tried to help me find additional discounts for my purchase; (*there weren't any, but the thought counts). She even broke down the purchasing process for me. If the admins, from the site are reading this, please give this girl a raise!

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Outstanding Customer Service
05 December 2018
Reviewer: Joe Perata from Fremont, CA

24 of 46 people found this review helpful

Excellent product. Very easy to use. Their customer service is outstanding! I had a couple of technical questions regarding some issues I was having with my computer. Judit of their support team was very responsive and supportive. He made sure that I was able to resolve the issues.

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Great Customer Service
05 December 2018
Reviewer: Michael J Senko from Washington DC

27 of 51 people found this review helpful

Love the Customer Service. As a new "Complete" member, I called with a couple technical questions and was quickly connected to a fine representative, Lynda, in a call center in Ireland. Lynda was able to quickly address both question, in a clear, helpful and even friendly manner. I went on to add dozens of new people to a tree I've worked since the late 1970s.

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Thank You
04 December 2018
Reviewer: Patricia from Mackay, QLD, Australia

26 of 50 people found this review helpful

I am not very computer literate & so make mistakes, sometimes many of them. I couldn't follow the computer prompts to mend my mess so phoned late Sunday night & found someone to speak to. Zvonimir was very helpful & extremely patient with helping me to learn how to undo my mistakes. I think I deafened him a little when I got excited to learn how I can sort it out myself now. I am the only family member interested in our family tree & find My Heritage very valuable in finding information, as there are no longer any older members of my family alive or with their memories intact. Thank you very much. I would also like to apologize to those people I confirmed matches with but have since found I am mistaken.

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


1 2 3 4 538
Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit MyHeritage.com

or

« Back to the rest of our Genealogy Sites Reviews







Advertisements