» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

My Heritage Reviews

My Heritage image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 372 reviews)

Category: Genealogy Sites (AKA Family Tree Websites)
Website: http://www.myheritage.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features Videos User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(4.1 Stars) based on 372 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Search Effectiveness:
Ease of Navigation:
Features:
Technical Support:
Help Files / Documentation:
Ease of Joining / Registration:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
178 Reviews
4 Stars
134 Reviews
3 Stars
16 Reviews
2 Stars
12 Reviews
1 Star
32 Reviews

88% of Users Recommend it



12 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 1: Displaying Reviews 1 - 10 of 12
Just Don't
10 December 2018
Reviewer: Vee from Omaha, NE

24 of 52 people found this review helpful

Customer service is a waste of time. They only have yearly subscriptions, which doesn't work when on a fixed income. Ancestry is by FAR the better site. I would not recommend Heritage to anyone.

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Disappointed
17 November 2018
Reviewer: Charlie from Jacksonville Fl

22 of 44 people found this review helpful

I expected to pay and have full advantage instead it continues to ask for more money. I love this site but can't continue to pay.

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Poor software, too much DNA.
14 November 2018
Reviewer: Effemeer from Bergen,NH, NL

23 of 45 people found this review helpful

Apart from billions of individuals data, Myheritage's offers are below standard.

They keep stressing the DNA aspect, but don't offer state of the art user interfaces, both online and in the Family tree builder.

The actual software has several shortcomings and misses important tools:
Geographical data are poorly supported; I don't notice efforts to standardise place names.
Comparison and merging of trees is poorly facilitated.
Handling of matches is extremely time consuming.
Photo's are multiplicated and hard to administrate.

In addition, Myheritage is quite expensive.
Hence poor value for money. Sorry to say. Hope it will improve.

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Billie castle “medbury”
28 October 2018
Reviewer: Jennifer Permuy Martin from S.c

17 of 39 people found this review helpful

I visited your site in order to look up my mothers family tree, only to find her information was some what “off” from the truth or I should say updated information ! So far off I stopped at that point . Seeing you couldn’t get passed a marriage that had ended in the very youth of her life. You buried her with the name Medbury? Not right or even close . Don’t post it if it’s not complete or even close to it this is her Daughter, so unempressed with your sight.

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Disappointed!
17 July 2018
Reviewer: [email protected] from Clanton, Alabama, USA

26 of 42 people found this review helpful

After seeing the initial results of my experience with My Heritage my wife opted to sign up. The results are very disappointing! Her immediate family has been ignored and replaced with many far removed cousins. We feel SCAMed!

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Your concept is good - but your delivery is not
18 September 2017
Reviewer: Long Waiter from Cincinnati, Ohio

36 of 72 people found this review helpful

I bought the DNA test. It was shipped right away. We activated it. Sent our sample. All was great. Now two weeks later nothing. I called and they said that was common. The it is not scanned received with they get it. It is only scanned when they get around to doing it. I was told to wait another two weeks and if they had not received it by then, to call back. So it could take a month she said and then we have to wait another 2 - 3 week from then and not from the time they get it.

Your concept is good, but your delivery is not as well.

In summary, I would recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Not happy
04 June 2015
Reviewer: Karen from South Carolina

141 of 258 people found this review helpful

Now that my trees are getting larger, I am having errors. For instance, in one of the families, there is no husband being shown and the children have suddenly become the brothers and sisters of the wife.

Also, I recently joined the highest membership believing that the four tree I currently have would be included in that new membership. However, one of the trees is still on Basic Membership. When I complained about it I was given written instructions on how t "Sync" that tree to my others, but is simply will NOT sync and still is registering as Basic.

I would like o be able to print out a list of the family members in each tree but have not figured out how to do that without doing it in a Tree form which is too large and too small to see.

It's hard to navigate on this software. I'm seriously considering going to a different software and starting all over again which will certainly be a big job recreating everything but possibly less frustrating.

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Customer Service Not Good
18 January 2015
Reviewer: K from UK

123 of 200 people found this review helpful

The features of the MyHeritage software are good. However, once the data is uploaded to the website it soon becomes difficult and tiresome to navigate the family tree unless you know which specific ancestor you are looking for and you enter the name into the search engine.

If you send an email to the company, in my experience you don't get a reply or any reply is a long time coming.

I have been with MyHeritage since 2008 and seriously considering closing the account shortly especially as there are better featured and cheaper alternatives on the market.

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


They say you get what you pay for - Not with My Heritage
22 March 2014
Reviewer: Vintage Yorkshireman from Sheffield, Yorkshire, UK

110 of 240 people found this review helpful

My Heritage is certainly easy to join and the website is no harder to navigate than others, but it's downhill from there.
The free features of My Heritage, particularly the basic family tree builder facility, are excellent with lots of "bells and whistles" , but as a research facility, it is frankly useless.
There is constant pressure to "invest" in more than just the basic site in order to enjoy the ability to search further, and a constant (sometimes frankly annoying) stream of e-mails announcing "smart matches" which you need to spend money to follow up.
My advice would be to SPEND NOTHING as the search facilities are hopeless when compared to such as Ancestry, Family Search, GRL...etc., and many others. Repeated searches for many simple records I already own produced reams of results, none of them relevant.

In summary I would say that when you have exhausted My Heritage's free features - move on!

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Expiry of Myheritage.com
15 January 2013
Reviewer: Goel from india

176 of 327 people found this review helpful

I started web site on Myheritage.com in Feb2010. the account shows unlimited expiry and adequate space for members to be added and photos. Now i find that without notice the web site has been deactivated with message no storage space and i am not able to see the tree i had created taking a lot of pains. Its cheating on part of Myheritage.com

In summary, I would not recommend My Heritage to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


1 2
Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit MyHeritage.com

or

« Back to the rest of our Genealogy Sites Reviews







Advertisements